Louise M. Gouge:

Copyeditor Extraordinaire

Make your book manuscript stand out from all the rest!
Multi-published, award-winning author and college English professor Louise M. Gouge can transform your story from an amateur effort into a marketable product.
Click here to inquire about fees and services.

Sunday, December 21, 2008

A REGENCY DELIGHT!




ABOUT THE BOOK Before the Season Ends

England, 1813
Romantic woes at home send Ariana Forsythe to her Aunt Bentley’s town house in the fashionable Mayfair district of London. There she finds worse troubles than those that prompted her flight from home. Under her aunt’s watchful eye, Ariana is soon steeped in high society—and at odds with Mr. Phillip Mornay, London’s current darling rogue.

Then, unexpectedly, rumour of a scandal changes Ariana forever. Her faith and her future are at stake in an unexpected adventure that gains even the Prince Regent’s attention.

Will Ariana’s faith survive this test? And what about her heart? For it is Ariana’s heart that most threatens to betray the truths she has always believed in. When she finds herself backed against a wall, betrothed to a man who cannot share her faith, how can it ever turn out right?

This book is generating great praise among Regency romance lovers. Janice LaQiere of Logos Book Reviews says: “In the vein of Jane Austen, Burkard weaves a delightful world, rich with detail. Her characters spring to life as they deal with their own struggles and prejudices.” I haven't read it yet but have it on my Christmas list.


Linore Rose Burkard delights in bringing Regency England to life with Inspirational Romance for the Jane Austen Soul. After self-publishing her first novel, Before the Season Ends, Harvest House Publishers snatched up her book and she now writes exclusively for them. Linore's books give readers the sense of visiting the Regency while bringing a message of hope in character-driven stories that delight and inspire. A longtime fan of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer, Linore's desire is to provide quality historical fiction with a Christian worldview and "happy endings only!" Born and raised in NYC, Linore now lives in Ohio with her husband and five children, and is a member of FHL-RWA, ACFW, Christian Authors' Network, and other organizations.

More of what Linore has to say about her books:

England in the 1800s is a world away from the 21st century. What do you think we could learn today from how society operated in the Regency period?

Times have changed, but people haven't. Men and women of the time were concerned with their appearances, their finances, their futures, finding the right spouse, and so on, just as we are, today. How they went about pursuing these ends is where all the difference lies, however, and this is precisely where the interest and adventure opens up for writers. Bringing to life the means and methods of everyday life and timeless concerns from the regency. It is fun and enlightening as a glimpse into the past, but readers can also identify with the basic human need to be genuinely loved for onself, no matter the setting or time period, and to be certain of one’s convictions concerning life, eternity, and faith. Having said that, it is good to remind modern readers that valuing one’s purity can be mainstream, as it was then; or that the struggle to find a true love and a sense that one’s life has value, has always been a human issue.

What do you hope readers will take away from your books?
I hope my readers will feel as though they've been transported to the Regency for a good, satisfying visit; While they’re visiting, they’ll be reminded that God is involved in their life, and that happy endings are possible for everyone.

OUR DRAWING IS DIFFERENT THIS TIME! HERE ARE THE RULES: WE MUST HAVE AT LEAST TEN COMMENTS/ENTRIES BEFORE ANYONE CAN WIN, SO BE SURE TO INVITE YOUR FRIENDS TO ENTER, TOO. ALSO, BE SURE TO LEAVE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS SO WE CAN CONTACT YOU IF YOUR NAME IS DRAWN.

Labels: , ,

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Piracy, Pathos, and Paradise!

CONGRATULATIONS TO LISA DECKER FOR WINNING A COPY OF BELOVED CAPTIVE!!

Caleb Spencer has a secret that can ruin his carefully planned future in politics. Emilie Gayarre must hide her past or be cast out of society. And each holds the key to the other’s happiness . . . or destruction.

Kathleen Y’Barbo’s new novel, Beloved Captive, takes readers on an exciting adventure with pirates, mysteries, adventure, and faith. Set in an intriguing time – the 1830s, and place – the Florida Keys, this novel is sure to leave readers breathless.

Beloved Captive
Kathleen Y'Barbo
Barbor Publishing, 2008
ISBN: 978-1-60260-230-4

If you would like to win a copy of Beloved Captive, leave a comment below. BE SURE TO LEAVE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS SO WE CAN CONTACT YOU IF YOU WIN!!!

Labels: , ,